The 2021 Edition of The 100 Best Fleets is now open for nominations! Click here.  



    Seminar benefits


    Host a seminar


100 Best Fleets

    About The 100 Best



    Win Mitchell Award

    Current winners

    Past winners

Green Garage Contest

    About The Contest


    Current winners

Green Fleet Award

    About The Award


    Current winners

    Past winners

Clean Cities

Advertise with us



100 Best merchandise

100 Best Audit

Tom's Book

Business Tools

Fleet Manager's Poem

Hopi Poem

Register with us

About us

Contact us


Winners of the Windell T. Mitchell Humanitarian Award

Win Mitchell

The Windell T. Mitchell Humanitarian Award was created to recognize those who have demonstrated the highest ethical standards and contributions to humanitarian efforts; providing service to society by making the world more sustainable.

Mr. Mitchell was the Director of Fleet operations for King County, Washington until his passing in 2011. He dedicated 35 years of his life to public service and improving the lives of those he helped through community service, such as his educational programs for children in Jamaica, West Indies. His life was a visible sign of his love and service for his fellow man. He lived his ideals and values, inspiring everyone around him. The award honors both his personal and professional life. A book was written about his life called “Taking The Right Way; the pathway to excellence.”

Tom, I hope you are staying healthy, just wanted to say thanks for awarding me the Windell Mitchell Humanitarian award. It really is a special Honor to be recognized by Best 100. This award stands above all the other awards I received over the years. All the Best!

Robert Martinez, Commanding Officer, Support Services Bureau; New York City Police Department; New York, NY

Windell Mitchell Humanitarian Award Winners
(Reverse Chronological Order)

2020 Bob Martinez; New York City Police Department
2019 Miguel Torres; El Paso, TX Fire Department
2018 Gary Lentsch; Eugene Water & Electric Board (OR)
2017 Robert Gordon; DeKalb County (GA)
2016 David Dunn; City of Orlando, FL
2015 PARAR; Brazil
2014 Darryl Syler; State of Ohio
2013 Steve Riley; City of Coral Gables, FL

Contact us  

Privacy Policy